Turkey Alert!

3 Aug

It was horribly humid out today. Needless to say, I was super excited to take a run this afternoon 😦 .

We did, however, come across some wildlife while we were out. There is a family of turkeys that seems to make the creek area their home every year. One of them crossed the sidewalk just ahead of us as we were en route back home.

Of course, I didn’t have my camera with me. But I can’t stand turkeys, so I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want that ugliness on my camera 😛 .

Lunch

We’re not even going to talk about breakfast. By this time, Jason will have seen the now empty toaster strudel box on the counter and will have scolded me for 1) not having my protein shake for breakfast and 2) eating all of his food.

As with yesterday, I did much better at lunch. I switched up DK’s Chicken & Mushroom Burger by substituting ground turkey for the ground chicken. I think I may have liked the turkey version better – much more juicy than the ground chicken. I can’t find shiitake mushrooms at our grocery store, so I use baby portabellas instead.

DSC01513

Workout

Despite the heat and humidity, I kept my workout date with myself. Jason, who isn’t feeling well today, and I did another 5K training run. Because of the weather and Jason’s health, we didn’t push it too hard. We made it happen, that’s all that mattered today.

Dinner

I had twice as much ground turkey as I needed for my lunch, so I made two burgers. I had the second burger for dinner along with sliced cucumber and tomato.

DSC01515

DSC01517

My mom used to serve sliced tomatoes with dinner almost every night in the summer. For some reason, I don’t have sliced tomatoes very often now. Tonight, I was reminded how good they are. I must have them more often!

Question of the Day

What is your least favorite animal? On the other side, what is your favorite?

My favorite, hands down – dogs 🙂

Leave a comment